Saline County, Arkansas
Orientation: The purpose of the Orientation is to Inform those summoned of the process of jury service and to qualify them as jurors.
Three times a year the Circuit Clerk and Judges conduct Jury Orientation held in the main Courthouse.
The Circuit Clerk and Judges will discuss the various aspects of jury service. The qualified jurors will then be sworn in to serve their term of service.
Terms of Service for each year:
- January 1st - April 30th
- May 1st - August 31st
- September 1st - December 31st
If you have been summoned to Jury Orientation you can either fill out the Jury Duty Summons form at https://myjuryinfo.courts.arkansas.gov or bring your Jury Orientation summons (Questionnaire) the day of Orientation. You will need to have BOTH sides completed and signed.
Jurors can have four choices to be notified:
- Voice message to their home telephone
- Voice message to their cell phone
- Text message to their cell phone
- Receive a notice though e-mail
Jury service is a high duty of citizenship. Jurors aid in the maintenance of law and order and uphold justice among their fellow citizens.
- Saline County Registered Voter
- 18 years of age or older
- Citizen of the United States
- Resident of Saline County Arkansas
- Sound mind and good moral character
- Able to read and write the English language
- Must not have served as a juror in Saline County in the last two years
- Must not have been convicted of a felony that has not been pardoned or expunged.
NOTE TO EMPLOYERS: It is unlawful for any employer to discharge, threaten to discharge, intimidate or coerce any employee for attendance or scheduled attendance in connection with jury service. The Circuit Clerk’s Office can provide upon request, a certified showing the attendance for those jurors whose employers require them.
Payment Amounts and Length of Service
Payment is set by the State of Arkansas and the Quorum Court of Saline County.
Jurors seated to hear the trial are paid $50.00/day plus mileage for those who live outside city limits.
Those who report but are not selected are paid $25.00/day plus mileage for those who live outside city limits.
Checks are run monthly for those seated or reported.
Length of Service - Most trials are one to four day, with some exception.Due to the number of jurors summoned, most jurors will generally appear one or two times during his/her term, but this is dependent on the number of trials conducted.
Frequently Asked Question (FAQ):
Q: May I bring a cell phone to Court?
A; You may bring a cell phone to the courtroom; however, it must be turned off.
Q: What is the appropriate dress for serving jury duty?
A: There are no set rules about dress in court. Business casual is a good dress directive. You should be comfortable. Please avoid shorts, halter tops, inappropriate t-shirts and muscle shirts. Please remember that you are going to a place of respect, so dress accordingly.
Q: Will there be a lot of waiting involved?
A: There could be some, in the initial beginning process of the trial as the attorney’s may need to submit documents to court.
Q: How did my name get chosen?
A: The Saline County Judges have chosen to use Registered Voters. The Circuit Clerk downloads a master list from the Arkansas Voter Registration database of Saline County voters. This process is done at a random pull of the entire database. This process happens every four months.
Q: How do I postpone my jury service?
A: Arkansas law does allow an option that is called deferment of term. However, this does not excuse you from your obligation to serve as a juror. This option simply allows you to transfer your term due to current circumstances.
Q: Will I be provided lunch?
A: No. You will be allowed to go to lunch on your own during lunch break.
Q: Am I required to speak to the attorney’s/reporters after the case is concluded?
A: No. You are not required to speak to anyone after the case if contacted to do so. It is simply by your choice.
Q: Is there an age limit to serve as juror?
A: In the State of Arkansas there is no exemptions on age other than you must be at least 18 years of age or older.
Q: What is the temperature of the courtroom?
A: Most Judges will keep their courtroom cold, so please bring a jacket or sweater.
Q: What if I have vacation or a doctor’s appointment scheduled.